REUNION: Sociology Graduates Of IMSU Give Back To DEPT., Elect Ik Ogbonna As Chairman

It was a historic moment for graduates of the Department of Sociology and Anthropology, Imo State University, Owerri, when they gathered for their first ANNUAL REUNION in Owerri, the Imo State capital, on the 29th of December 2023.

The group which has been existing online and interacting amongst themselves decided to meet physically and also give back to their department electing a journalist and former SA to the Imo State Governor on ICT, Ik Ogbonna as Chairman.

They paid a courtesy visit to the Head of Department, Dr. Emma Eboh with the distinguished presence of their lecturer, Prof. Agnes Njoku who is the current Dean of the Faculty of Social Sciences.

They donated an all in one computer set, printer and a photocopier and made financial commitments as well.

The Dean Prof Agnes Njoku was visibly excited to see her ex students and prayed for more successes in their endeavours. The HOD also appreciated them for the donations. They also paid a visit to the first HOD of the department, Prof. LC OKERE who was similarly shocked to see them. A visit to the Sisters of the Needy, Uratta was also undertaken.

In their meeting preceding the visit to IMSU, the Chairman Organising Committee, Barr Chris Okoronkwo briefed the house on the journey thus far and the committee was applauded for a job well done. Thereafter the following were elected to pilot the affairs of the group for one year on interim basis :
Chairman : Ik Ogbonna
Secretary : Barr Chris Okoronkwo
Treasurer : Happiness Chika.
PRO : Samuel Nwosu.
Other prominent Members of the set include Dr. Emeka Onyema who is a lecturer in the department, Ifeanyi Henry Oparanozie, Chief Kingsley NNADI, Joy Iheagwam etc

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *