Buhari Approves Establishment Of 8 New Polytechnics and 6 Colleges Of Education

President Muhammadu Buhari has approved the establishment of eight new polytechnics and six new Colleges of Education across the country.

The Minister of Education, Adamu Adamu, made this known during his speech at the World Teachers Day commemoration in Abuja on Tuesday.

Adamu, who was represented by the Permanent Secretary, Federal Ministry of Education, Sonny Echono, said the Federal Government intends to establish a polytechnic in each of the states of the federation where none exists presently.

The new polytechnics would be located in Jamma’are, Bauchi State: Daura, Katsina State; Monguno, Borno State; Shendam, Plateau State, Wannune, Benue State; Ugep. Cross River State; Ayede, Oyo State; Ohodo, Enugu State; and Orogun in Delta State.

“Government has also approved the establishment of six (6) new Federal Colleges of Education.

“They are to be located in Iwo, Osun State: Ekhadolor, Edo State; Gidan Madi, Sokoto State; Odugbo, Benue State: Jama’are, Bauchi State and Isu, Ebonyi State,” he said.

The minister also said the Governing Councils of Tertiary institutions in the country were reconstituted and that a presidential visitation panel was sent to all federal tertiary institutions.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *