Immediate Past Minister for Niger Delta Loses Senate Primaries

Immediate past Minister of State for Niger Delta Affairs, Senator Tayo Alasoadura, has his bid to clinch the ticket of the All Progressives Congress to represent Ondo Central senatorial district. He polled 88 votes at the APC primary held in Akure at the International Event and Cultural Centre. Alasoadura who recently resigned his ministerial position to contest the party primary was first elected to the National between 2015 and 2019.

Alasoadura lost to a lawyer, Adegbonmire Adeniyi, who polled 144 votes. He walked out of the primary venue immediately sorting of votes began. Other aspirants such as Tola Awosika got 44 votes, Akinpelumi Ilesola got 45 votes, Princess Olatunji Omowunmi had two votes while Oyebade Nirab scored zero. In Ondo North senatorial district, a businessman, Jide Ipinsagba polled 268 votes to defeat his closest rival Alex Ajipe who had 57 votes. Results from Ondo South senatoria district was being expected as at press time.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *