Defection: Imo APGA Asks Court to Sack Deputy Speaker, Others, From State Assembly

A federal high court sitting in Owerri will on Thursday 14th July 2022 continue to hear the suit between the leadership of All Progressives Grant Alliance, APGA and six Lawmakers won their elections on the platform of the party
When the matter in suit no FHC/OW/SC/27 was called up today 15th June 2022, the presiding judge, Justice Bello, wanted to know whether the six Lawmakers actually defected to another party after winning elections on the tickets of APGA
Consequently, the motion on stay of execution was struct out to enable the honourable court to hear the substantive suit. Both the legal Chief legal officer representing INEC, Mrs Onyemalukwe, the lawyer representing APGA, Mr C.I. Asika Ilobi and the lawyers representing the accused persons all agreed on the adjourned date.
Speaking to the press at the court premises after the matter was adjourned, Barr Asika Ilobi said they wanted to determine whether the accused lawmakers have right to defect to another party having won on the platform of different party. The APGA lawyer said that the outcome of the legal fireworks will deepen democracy in the country and will a long way shapen the electoral process in Nigeria
Also addressing newsmen at the court premises, the state Chairman of APGA, Hon John Iwuala cited the case ruled by supreme court of Nigeria between Rotimi Amaechi and PDP where the apex court ruled that it’s the party rather than individuals that win elections in Nigeria.
He opined that apart from the affected Lawmakers to forfeit their seats as legislatures, they should also refund every salary and entitlement the have so far collected as members of the state Assembly.
The affected Lawmakers are the former speakers, Dr Chiji Collins and Hon Paul Emezie representing Isiala Mbano and Onuimo respectively. Others include Amara Iwuanyanwu (Nwangele), members representing Orsu, Okigwe and Ihitte Uboma respectively.
The state Secretary of the party, Pastor Alphonsus Eberendu, the Owerri zonal Chairman, Mr Cosmos Unakalamba, the Owerri zonal woman leader, Lady Grace Ugo, Engr Udensi and Hon Emeka Nkwoada, the state Publicity Secretaries were present in the court

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *